Cricket365 | Bangladesh

Nov 112014

Bangladesh go into the third Test against Zimbabwe in uncharted waters – this week’s match in Chittagong will be their first Test match in which they can record a whitewash over an opponent in the five-day arena.

The first Test of the series between the two minnows of Test cricket, in Dhaka, Bangladesh recorded a three-wicket victory due to a dramatic Zimbabwe collapse on the final day in what an eagerly contested match otherwise.

The second Test, however – in Khulna – was a completely different affair and thanks to Shakib Al Hasan’ virtuoso performance, becoming only the third player in history to score a Test ton and take 10 wickets in a match, the home side posted a comfortable 162-run victory.

For Zimbabwe, the final match of the series gives them an opportunity to save some face, even though they have struggled with the spinning conditions of the sub-continent throughout.

Long gone is the historic Test victory over Pakistan on home soil in September last year, instead, the visitors are struggling to answer the riddles of spin bowling that’s been laid at their door throughout the series.

Key MenShakib will undoubtedly be the main man again for hosts, buoyed by a performance last week which moved him up to number one on the Test rankings for all-rounder. The former captain is also the leading wicket taker there, with 33 scalps to his name.

For the visitors, Hamilton Masakadza was the only Zimbabwe batsman to play the Bangladesh spinners comfortably during the series to date and if the visitors are going to finish the series on a high, the opener is likely to be central to that.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results2014 Second Test: Bangladesh won by 162 runsFirst Test: Bangladesh won by three wickets in Dhaka2013 Second Test: Bangladesh won by 143 runs in Harare2013 First Test: Zimbabwe won by 335 runs in Harare2011 Only Test: Zimbabwe won by 133 runs in Harare

SquadsBangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal (vice-captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Rubel Hossain, Shuvagata Hom, Mahmudullah, Shafiul Islam, Jubair Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Marshall Ayub, Anamul Haque, Taijul Islam

Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (capt), Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Craig Ervine, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Natsai M’shangwe, Richmond Mutumbami, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda, Malcolm Waller

Dates: 12-16 NovemberMorning session: 09:30:00-11:30 (03:30-05:30 GMT)Afternoon session: 12:10-14:10 (07:10-09:10 GMT)Evening session: 14:30-16:30 (09:30-11:30 GMT)On-field umpires:Aleem Dar and Chris GaffaneyThird umpire: Kumar DharmasenaMatch referee: Chris Broad

Click for detailed story

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin