Apr 302013

Nathan Coulter-Nile

Nathan Coulter-Nile has showed his talents in the short- form of the game. Source: Getty Images

Michael Clarke

Michael Clarke will be part of Australia’s Champions Trophy squad. Picture: Getty Images Source: Getty Images

AUSTRALIA has named its 15-man squad for this year’s ICC Champions Trophy in England and Wales.

Medium-fast bowler and powerful lower-order hitter Nathan Coulter-Nile, along with talented West Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, were the only new players added to the national one-day squad.

Tasmanian George Bailey got the nod as vice-captain, edging out ‘keeper Matthew Wade for the role of deputy to captain Michael Clarke.


Australia has won the previous two Champions Trophy tournaments – in India in 2006 and South Africa in 2009.

The Australians will open their campaign against England at Edgbaston on June 8. Sri Lanka and New Zealand are the other teams rounding out Group A.

Michael Clarke’s squad has slipped to third on the ICC rankings, but is just three ratings points behind the top-ranked Indians. Bookmakers have installed the Australians as equal favourites alongside South Africa to raise the trophy.

The Champions Trophy has battled for relevance in an increasingly crowded international calendar and is to be phased out of the ICC’s schedule.


Michael Clarke (c)George Bailey (vc)Nathan Coulter-NileXavier DohertyJames FaulknerPhil HughesMitchell JohnsonClint McKayMitchell Marsh,Glenn MaxwellMitchell StarcAdam VogesMatthew WadeDavid WarnerShane Watson

2013 ICC Champions Trophy schedule:

Group A: Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka

Group B: India, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies

Thu 6 Jun: India v South Africa (d),  Cardiff

Fri 7 Jun West Indies v Pakistan (d), The Oval

Sat 8 Jun: England v Australia (d), Edgbaston

Sun 9 Jun: Sri Lanka v New Zealand (d), Cardiff

Mon 10 Jun: Pakistan v South Africa (d), Edgbaston

Tue 11 Jun: India v West Indies (d), The Oval

Wed 12 Jun: Australia v New Zealand (d), Edgbaston

Thu 13 Jun: England v Sri Lanka (d/n), The Oval

Fri 14 Jun: West Indies v South Africa (d), Cardiff

Sat 15 Jun: India v Pakistan (d), Edgbaston

Sun 16 Jun: England v New Zealand (d), Cardiff

Mon 17 Jun: Sri Lanka v Australia (d/n), The Oval

Wed 19 Jun: Semi-final A1 v B2 (d), The Oval

Thu 20 Jun: Semi-final A2 v B1 (d), Cardiff

Sun 23 Jun: Final (d), Edgbaston

d: day; d/n: day-night

Click for detailed story

 Leave a Reply




Follow me on Twitter

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin