May 022013

The African and sub-continental minnows are becoming familiar foes amid an international touring schedule eager see strength against strength, but might be doing the teams a disservice.

Zimbabwe and Bangladesh have both expressed great desire to take on bigger guns, but for three more ODIs – at least – must make do with each other in Bulawayo this month.

The Test series proved looming thought: the teams are reasonably evenly matched regardless of conditions. Zimbabwe are arguably over-reliant on skipper Brendan Taylor for big runs and sport a formidable seam attack, while Bangladesh’s attack isn’t always dominated by all its left-arm spinners after all.

The collective penchant for impatience and brash shot selection among the visiting batsmen, however, requires honing. All, again, will prevail in the one-dayers – and into the Twenty20 Internationals too.

Neither side have the Champions Trophy to look forward too, but will know Zimbabwe’s return visit to Bangladeshi shores will hold similar trials, which must be sifted through – and prioritised – this week and the next.

Key MenBrendan Taylor’s importance to the batting order – and the greater good – is not secret. Individual failure in the West Indies spilled over into the XI, but his success last month meant relative triumph.

Back in the fray after a lengthy injury layoff, Shakib Al Hasan resumed where he left off – and continues to hold the key cards in the batting and bowling department.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results2011: Fifth ODI: Bangladesh won by 93 runs in Bulawayo2011: Fourth ODI: Bangladesh won by six wickets in Bulawayo2011: Third ODI: Zimbabwe won by five runs in Harare2011: Second ODI: Zimbabwe won by seven wickets in Harare2011: First ODI: Zimbabwe won by four wickets in Harare

PredictionOnline betting firm Sky Bet have Zimbabweat 15/8 and Bangladesh at 2/5 in the odds to win the series. Visit Sky Bet for the latest cricket betting.

More cricket bets here.

SquadsZimbabwe: Vusi Sibanda, Regis Chakabva, Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams, Elton Chigumbura, Natsai Mushangwe, Shingi Masakadza, Kyle Jarvis, Brian Vitori, Prosper Utseya.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim, Abdur Razzak, Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Mohammad Ashraful, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Robiul Islam, Sajidul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Shamsur Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Sohag Gazi, Tamim Iqbal, Ziaur Rahman.

FixturesFirst ODI: Bulawayo, 3 MaySecond ODI: Bulawayo, 5 MayThird ODI: Bulawayo, 8 May

Click for detailed story

 Leave a Reply




Follow me on Twitter

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin