Jan 052013

The Cricket Australia (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) has announced a 13-player squad for the first two Commonwealth Bank Series matches against Sri Lanka on 11 January at the MCG and 13 January at the Adelaide Oval.

Commenting on the squad, National Selector John Inverarity said: “Missing from the last Australian ODI team that played Pakistan in Sharjah on 3 September are Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, David Warner, Matthew Wade, Dan Christian and James Pattinson.  

“Michael has been battling a hamstring injury for a few weeks and will have a break, as will Matthew Wade and David Warner.

“These three players have played in all six Vodafone Test matches this summer and the intention is to have them returning to the ODI squad refreshed.  

“Taking a long term view towards the ICC Cricket World Cup the NSP has decided not to include Michael Hussey in the squad for the Commonwealth Bank Series.  

“Michael has been a tremendous ODI player for Australia over a long period of time, a match-winner for his country and his presence in coloured clothing will be sorely missed.  

“James Pattinson, together with Shane Watson, were not considered for selection in these two games as they are yet to return to full fitness, while Dan Christian has not been included in the squad.  

“The squad has a number of young players who have a considerable upside.

“The seven batsmen have all performed very well when their last 10 appearances in 50 over cricket are considered.  

“Aaron Finch, for example has scored 716 runs at the average of 79.6 with a strike rate of 91.

“Phillip Hughes and Usman Khawaja are generally considered to be ‘red-ball’ cricketers, but their recent 50 over figures are most impressive; 477 runs at 95.4 (strike-rate of 82) and 477 at 59.6 (strike-rate of 82.5) respectively.

“These opportunities during the Commonwealth Bank Series will enhance their overall development.  

“Ben Cutting has also been included in the ODI squad for the first time.

“He is a prolific wicket-taker over the three formats and has shown that he can be a devastating lower-order batsman as well.  

“In the absence of Michael Clarke, George Bailey will captain these two games.

“In the 13 ODIs Australia has played since he made his debut in the West Indies on 16 March 2012, George has scored more runs (441) than any other Australian ODI batsman in that period.

“While the NSP is looking ahead to the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup we are also mindful of the forthcoming Test tours to India and England.

“Matthew Wade and Brad Haddin are considered to be the two best keeper-batsmen in Australia.

“Brad remains in consideration and he will play while Matthew has a break.

“David Hussey is a very experienced player with an outstanding career record and his brother’s recent announcement has raised his overall stocks,” Inverarity said.  

In addition, Dean Jones will be added to the coaching staff for the first two Commonwealth Bank Series matches as batting coach.

Stuart Law has advised that he will not be pursuing the full-time batting coach role and will return to his job as CA Centre of Excellence High Performance Coach.  

“’I thank Stuart for his outstanding contribution over the past six weeks – we are disappointed he is not in a position to consider the full-time role,” Coach Mickey Arthur said.  

Arthur said that the Batting Coach role was yet to be finalised, however after having Jones around the team during the Vodafone Boxing Day Test he was familiar to staff and the playing group and this was a great opportunity to briefly engage the services of one of Australia’s best ever one-day players.  

 “We have quite a young ODI squad at the moment with a firm eye on the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, so to have the knowledge of one of Australia’s best ever one-day players with us for a couple of games will be invaluable to the group,” Arthur said.  

“We’re yet to finalise the broader batting coach role so this opportunity to have some former players with us as specialists during the Commonwealth Bank Series will be invaluable for our young squad.”    

Clarke, Wade and Warner will not be available for their KFC T20 Big Bash League team while being rested.  

The squad will assemble in Melbourne on 8 January ahead of the first Commonwealth Bank Series match against Sri Lanka at the MCG on Friday 11 January.

Commonwealth Bank one-day international 13-man squad:

George Bailey (captain)
Ben Cutting
Xavier Doherty
Aaron Finch
Brad Haddin
Phillip Hughes
David Hussey
Mitchell Johnson
Usman Khawaja
Glenn Maxwell
Clint McKay
Steve Smith
Mitchell Starc


First Posted 06 January, 2013 9:00AM AEST

Tags: CommBank Series v Sri Lanka , Australia

Click for detailed story

 Leave a Reply




Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin