Apr 282013

NEW DELHI: Irfan Pathan gave Delhi Daredevils crucial breakthroughs when he managed to dismiss both the Pune openers – Robin Uthappa and Aaron Finch – at the SVNS International Stadium in Raipur on Sunday.

Scorecard | Watch IPL Videos

With a partnership of 76 runs for the first wicket, Uthappa and Finch had found it easy to keep pace with the run chase of 165 against Delhi Daredevils. Both the openers had given the Pune Warriors a steady start and were looking strong.

However, Pathan struck in his third over and took out Uthappa (37) first and Finch (37) three balls later. While Uthappa was out due to a brilliant catch by Unmukt Chand at the long leg region, Finch would consider himself unlucky after he was caught behind by the wicket-keeper off a delivery which came off his thigh pad.

Pathan had started the innings with a maiden over and managed to create some pressure. However, both the openers patiently played the Delhi pacers and negated any pressure by continuing to churn runs at a regular interval.

Earlier, David Warner’s unbeaten 25-ball 51 and fine contributions from Virender Sehwag and Kedar Jadhav powered Delhi Daredevils to 164/5 against Pune Warriors India.

Warner’s knock was studded with 4 fours and 4 sixes.

Kedar Jadhav hit 2 sixes in his 19-ball 25 before Ashok Dinda had his caught by Mithun Manhas at long-on.

Warner reached his fifty off 24 balls.

Delhi lost their second wicket when Ashok Dinda had Sehwag caught behind by Robin Uthappa.

Uthappa took his second catch in the next over to dismiss Chand off Rahul Sharma.

Uthappa took his third catch to dismiss Ben Rohrer off Abhishek Nayar.

Dinda gave Pune the first breakthrough when he had Delhi Daredevils captain Mahela Jayawardene caught in the covers by Luke Wright.

The breakthroughs for Pune came after captain Aaron Finch won the toss and chose to bowl.

Kane Richardson makes his IPL debut for Pune. Also left out is Ishwar Pandey.

For Delhi, Morne Morkel, Ben Rohrer and Unmukt Chand are back.


Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (Capt.), Virender Sehwag, David Warner, Unmukt Chand, Ben Rohrer, Kedar Jadhav, Irfan Pathan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Morne Morkel, Ashish Nehra, Umesh Yadav.

Pune Warriors: Aaron Finch (Capt.), Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Steve Smith, Luke Wright, Abhishek Nayar, Mithun Manhas, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashok Dinda, Rahul Sharma, Kane Richardson.

Click for detailed story

 Leave a Reply




Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin