Apr 022014

The online sale of tickets for the seventh edition of the IPL will start on Thursday.

The tickets will be available on www.iplt20.com and www.ticketmaster.ae.

They will also be available at select Lulu Hypermarkets in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah, from April 6 while stadium box-office sales will start on April 10. 

The tickets will be available in different denominations. The minimum price for the Abu Dhabi matches is AED (United Arab Emirates Dirham) 20 for a single match, and AED 30 for double-headers.

In Dubai, a ticket for one match will start at AED 30, and AED 50 for double-headers. In Sharjah, tickets will start at AED 30 for a single match, and AED 40 for the double-headers.

IPL governing council chairman Ranjib Biswal said that the event would be exciting for the cricketing fraternity and people of the UAE.

“I want to thank the UAE government, the Emirates Cricket Board, the administrations of Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi, as well as the three sports councils, for their support and commitment to host the IPL. The 20 matches to be played in the UAE will feature top cricketers from all over the world. I am sure that the opportunity to witness their heroes in action will prompt them to flock to the stadiums,” he added.

Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Sharjah Cricket Stadium and Sheik Zayed Stadium are the three stadiums to host twenty matches from April 16 to April 30.

The opening match will be played in Abu Dhabi.

Click for detailed story

May 102013
Sharjah Sixes: Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal to feature in 2013 edition

Pakistani star all-rounder Shahid Afridi and batsman Umar Akmal will now feature in Sharjah Sixes 2013. As both Shahid Afridi and Umar Akmal has been dropped from the 15-member squad to participate in the Champions Trophy to begin next month, they find the opportunity to continue their cricket.

The maiden Sharjah Sixes will start from 20th May and last till 1st June. Venue would be the historic Sharjah stadium which has the honor of hosting most One Day matches. Best club teams will play against each other in Sharjah sixes. A total of forty-eight teams are participating in the 12-day tournament.

Ten Sports has the broadcasting rights of the tournament. Sharjah Cricket Council will sponsor the whole event. As per the tournament management, beside UAE, they have received applications from numerous clubs of Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Saudi Arabia and even of Afghanistan.

Total value of the Sharjah Sixes will be lakh UAE dirhams (AED). Winning team will be honored with 40,000 AED; runners-up will be rewarded with 25,000 AED. While the third-ranked team will get 15,000 AED. Whereas Man of the match, Best Batsman, Best Bowler and the player hitting the longest six will be entertained with 2000 AED each.

Total of 48 teams will feature in the tournament and they will be divided into 16 groups, with 3 teams in each group. Every team will have to play three matches. According to the rules of sixes tournaments, every match is played between two teams, comprising six players each, and five overs of six deliveries will be bowled. Fielding team can include two extra fielders apart from their six, this will make total eight fielders. But the five players who were part of the team will only be allowed to bowl. Every batsman reaching upto individual score of 31 will have to retire.

Waqar Younis, Pakistan’s former captain and coach, will be tournament’s brand ambassador. Whilst Bishan Singh Bedi, Mushtaq Muhammad Venkatapathy Raju will participate as chief guests.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin