Feb 092014

It was third time lucky for the Perth Scorchers in the third Big Bash League final held on Friday night, the three time finalists managed to beat the Hobart Hurricanes to bring home the trophy.

The Scorchers were in front from the start, already having a home ground advantage for the third year in a row, and having won the toss looked in fine form to bring home the trophy.

It was the particular batting of the Marsh brothers that added to the Scorchers impressive score, with Craig Simmons failing to get another century and being dismissed in the 10ht over, Adam Voges added another 27 runs I was Shaun and Mitchell Marsh that added quick runs to the scorchers total before Mitch got dismissed with just three balls to go, however it was too late to reign the home-side in, and they finished with 191 runs on the board.

It was then the Hobart Hurricanes turn to bat, and with an impressive bowling attack the Scorchers were in control.

They took early wickets and managed to contain the Hurricanes with the only batsman getting about a half century was George Bailey who managed to get 58 runs before being dismissed in the 14th over.

It wasn’t enough though, with the Hurricanes falling 39 runs short, giving the Perth Scorchers their first Big Bash League Win.

Both teams have qualified for the Champions league and will compete in that later this year.

Scorecard: Perth Scorchers 4/191 (Shaun Marsh 63*, Craig Simmons 45, Ben Hilfenhaus 1/23) defeated the Hobart Hurricanes  7/152 (George Bailey 58, Jonathan Wells 24,  Brad Hogg 2/17) by 39 runs.

Man of the match: Brad Hogg (Perth Scorchers)

Man of the series:  Ben Dunk (Hobart Hurricanes)

Credits: ESPNcricinfo (Image and scorecard) 

Click for detailed story

Feb 082014
Scorchers clinch Big Bash League title

SYDNEY: Australian Twenty20 team Perth Scorchers have won Western Australian cricket’s first trophy for a decade following a dominant 39-run victory over Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash League final at the WACA Ground.Perth was hosting its third cons…

Dec 172013
BBL preview: Brisbane Heat

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe’s Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash Player

BRISBANE’S bats head into the opening match against the Perth Scorchers in, well, scorching form.

Four of their batsmen – Luke Pomersbach ((89.25), Chris Lynn (57.85), Peter Forrest (52.87) and Joe Burns (50.83) – are averaging over 50 in Shield cricket this summer.

In comparison the Perth team, drawn mainly from the WA Warriors have struggled for form, but the Marsh brothers Mitch and Shaun are matchwinners in this form of cricket.

The X-Factor: Luke Pomersbach turned his career around in the BBL02 as he spearheaded the Heat to the title. A player with a history of off-field incidents to his name, Pomersbach put his personal struggles behind him to smash 397 runs – including the Heat’s first century – with some brutal hitting at the top of the order. He can take the game away from the opposition in no time at all.

Brisbane Heat's Daniel V...

Brisbane Heat’s Daniel Vettori. Source: News Limited

The Smokey: Daniel Vettori is back in Brisbane again this season and while his international record needs no promoting, he is still to make his mark in the BBL. Vettori missed last season’s Big Bash with an Achilles injury, leaving him keen to repay the franchise’s faith this summer.

Last season: 4th (champions)

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe’s Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash Player

The Squad: James Hopes, Nick Buchanan, Joe Burns, Daniel Christian, Ben Cutting, Peter Forrest, Cameron Gannon, Ryan Harris, Chris Hartley, Nathan Hauritz, Mitchell Johnson, Craig Kieswetter, Chris Lynn, Alister McDermott, Luke Pomersbach, Chris Sabburg, Daniel Vettori, Shane Watson

Odds: $6.50

Stuart Clark’s verdict: Last year’s champions. It will be interesting to see how they go without Boof Lehmann at the helm.

Oct 022013
CLT20: Mumbai Thrash Scorchers, Knock Out Otago
Wednesday 2 October 2013 

by Daniel Grummitt

Rohit drives

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma guided his side to victory in Delhi.

Action Images / Paul Harding

Mumbai Indians 152-4 (Rohit 51no) beat
Perth Scorchers 149-6 by 6 wickets
Champions League T20, Group A Match, Delhi

Dwayne Smith and Rohit Sharma blasted Mumbai Indians into the semi-finals of the Champions League T20 as they won their final group game against a hapless Perth Scorchers. Mumbai chased down their target of 150 in just 13.2 overs, meaning that they knock Otago out of the competition on net run rate.

Nathan Coulter-Nile had starred with the ball for Mumbai, taking three for 19 from his four overs, but it was the batsmen who deserve most of the plaudits for the way in which they pulled off the run chase under pressure. To qualify for the semi-finals, they had to overhaul their target in 14.3 overs or fewer to leapfrog Otago in the final table.

Despite losing Sachin Tendulkar for a duck in Jason Behrendorff’s opening over, they got off to a rollicking start thanks to Barbadian Dwayne Smith. He ensured that by the time he was third man out for 48 off just 25 balls his side had reached 72 early in the seventh over.

Rohit Sharma then took over from Smith and blazed four sixes during his 24-ball stay at the crease which yielded 51 runs. He added 65 in 37 balls with Kieron Pollard (23 off 18 balls) for the fourth-wicket, with Ambati Rayudu then finishing the match with a brace of sixes off Ashton Agar.

As expected, a couple of the Perth bowlers took a battering, with Joel Paris going for 36 runs from two wicket-less overs and Agar conceding 23 runs from just eight balls. Brad Hogg (3-0-26-2) and Behrendorff (3-0-31-2) were the wicket-takers as Mumbai won by six wickets.

The Scorchers had earlier been given a solid, if unspectacular, start after being asked to bat. Openers Ashton Agar and Simon Katich put on 55 in 9.2 overs, with Agar eventually falling to Pragyan Ojha for 35 off 40 balls. Ojha then bowled Katich for 13 later in the same over.

Hilton Cartwright and debutant Sam Whiteman added 58 for the third-wicket, with the latter ending unbeaten on 51 off 32 balls. Coulter-Nile, though, bowled well at the end of the innings, bowling Cartwright for 28 and removing Ashton Turner (0) and Marcus North (3). Rishi Dhawan also chipped in with the wicket of wicket-keeper Tom Triffitt as Perth finished on 149 for six.

© Cricket World 2013

Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin