Feb 022014

Toss Australia chose to bat v EnglandLive scorecard and ball-by-ball details

George Bailey won the toss and Australia will bat first in an attempt at a second clean-sweep on England’s long and unsuccessful tour.

Australia made two changes to the side that won comprehensively in Melbourne on Friday with Daniel Christian returned to the line-up and Ben Cutting included for his first game of the series. Despite being named Man of the Match in the MCG victory, Josh Hazlewood was left out and Chris Lynn also made way, with Brad Hodge again included.

England also made two changes with Michael Lumb dropped to make way for Ben Stokes for his first game of the series, although Stokes was listed at first drop with Luke Wright to open with Alex Hales. Chris Jordan was also named for his Twenty20 international debut, replacing the spinner James Tredwell as England opted for an all-pace attack.

Australia 1 Aaron Finch, 2 Cameron White, 3 Glenn Maxwell, 4 George Bailey (capt), 5 Brad Hodge, 6 Matthew Wade (wk), 7 Daniel Christian, 8 Ben Cutting, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Coulter-Nile, 11 James Muirhead.

England 1 Alex Hales, 2 Luke Wright, 3 Ben Stokes, 4 Joe Root, 5 Eoin Morgan, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Ravi Bopara, 8 Tim Bresnan, 9 Chris Jordan, 10 Stuart Broad (capt), 11 Jade Dernbach.

Click for detailed story

Jan 032013
Thirimanne pushes Sri Lanka to 294

Toss Australia chose to field v Sri Lanka
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Suranga Lakmal made two early breakthroughs, England v Sri Lanka, 2nd Test, Lord's, June 3, 2011

Suranga Lakmal, a late inclusion in the Sri Lanka squad, will play at the SCG © AFP

Related Links

Sri Lanka made four changes and were sent in to bat on an SCG pitch expected to offer some assistance to the fast bowlers early on the first day. Michael Clarke confirmed Australia would take four fast bowlers into the match, as he announced on Wednesday, and he decided their best chance to make use of the green-tinged pitch would be to set them loose immediately.

“The wicket has got a fair bit of grass on it,” Clarke said. “I think if anything it’s probably going to have a little bit in it up until lunch today, so we want to maximise the conditions with four fast bowlers. It’s different for us, but we think conditions are conducive to it. Losing Shane Watson means we lose the extra bowling so we thought bringing in the extra fast bowler to make up for that was the way to go in this Test match.”

The inclusion of Mitchell Starc, who was rested for the Melbourne Test, as a replacement for the injured Shane Watson was the only change for Australia, who are also farewelling the retiring Michael Hussey. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, were forced to bring four new men in to cover for injuries.

Dinesh Chandimal will keep wicket and bat at No.7 instead of Prasanna Jayawardene, who suffered a hairline fracture to his thumb in Melbourne. Lahiru Thirimanne has also been included as a replacement for Kumar Sangakkara, who also suffered a broken digit in the MCG Test, and has had little time to acclimatise having just flown in from Sri Lanka.

The same can be said of Suranga Lakmal, who has been thrust into the side in place of Shaminda Eranga, who hurt his ankle at training on match eve. There will also be an opportunity for the fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep, who has been named as a replacement for the injured Chanaka Welegedara (hamstring).

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Ed Cowan, 3 Phillip Hughes, 4 Michael Clarke (capt), 5 Michael Hussey, 6 Matthew Wade (wk), 7 Mitchell Johnson, 8 Peter Siddle, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Jackson Bird.

Sri Lanka 1 Dimuth Karunaratne, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Mahela Jayawardene (capt), 4 Lahiru Thirimanne, 5 Thilan Samaraweera, 6 Angelo Mathews, 7 Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 8 Rangana Herath, 9 Dhammika Prasa, 10 Suranga Lakmal, 11 Nuwan Pradeep.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin